4 Hour (BDI) Basic Driver Improvement
A Florida traffic ticket can ruin your day! Whether you got your Florida ticket for speeding, red light running, improper lane change, failure to yield, or any some other moving violation, we have good news for you – you can take your Florida traffic school course with us! Not only will this course keep points off your license but it may also provide insurance benefits if you have not had a traffic citation before.
All Florida Safety Institute Basic Driver Improvement Course
The fastest, easiest way to do traffic school. There is no final exam. The course contains short unit quizzes instead. Some Court ordered cases will require you to take this course in person; please select the classroom option ($45).
Successfully completing our 4-hour BDI course will ensure:
You keep the points off your record
You keep your insurance rates from going up (§626.9541, F.S.)
You maintain a Safe Driver status
You might also be interested in...
Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education
Are you at least 15 years old and ready to get your first Florida driver license? If you are, you can take your DHSMV-required drug and alcohol course online!
Completing the 4-hour Traffic Law Substance Abuse Education Course is your first step to getting your Florida Class E learner's permit.
The benefits of going to traffic school
The first thing that goes through a person's head when they get a ticket, should I fight it or should I pay it? However, you should think twice before trying any of the two options. You can keep your traffic record clean, prevent court fines and heightened insurance rates by attending traffic school. Here are the benefits that come with attending traffic school.
The insurance rates
Depending on your insurance policy and the laws of your state, a single moving violation within a period of three months will not increase your insurance rates. However, if the number exceeds that, you are likely to pay a larger amount. The decision to attend a traffic school or to fight the ticket highly depends on the insurance policy and the laws of your state. Review your insurance policy because it will help you know whether attending traffic school is worth your time.
Traffic violation fines are seemingly excessive, depending on your driving record and the laws in your state. To save time, you might decide to pay the amount and forget about it. But did you know that after signing the ticket and paying the fee, it will reflect on your driving record for a total of three years. Therefore, you might continue paying for the violation a little longer.
Before paying the fine, check whether the option of going to a traffic school in place of, or along with the fine exists. The court reduces the fine for individuals willing to attend traffic school. The traffic violation will not appear on your driving record after attending traffic school classes.
Avoid license suspension
Generally, your driver’s license will not be suspended for two violations unless you are under the age of 18 years or your traffic violation was a DUI. That, however, does not mean that you should take traffic violations lightly.
Each violation that you do not erase by attending traffic school or that you do not contest successfully counts towards the point total in your state’s point system. After you have reached he predetermined point, the license will be suspended automatically and can be revoked.
After the suspension or revocation, you will have to appear before a judge to explain why you did not fight the violations and what you did to drive carefully after the incidents. You should also explain why you need the driver’s license.
Why take a Florida BDI Course
A Basic Driver Improvement (BDI) course will help you eliminate points on your driver’s license record if you complete it voluntarily within 30 days of receiving them. Before taking the course, you have to notify the clerk of court within the county where you received the traffic citation. You should also pay the election fee to that clerk of court.
Drivers should take and complete a course that the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) has already approved. To register for the course, you should contact an approved BDI course provider within your state.
The options for satisfying the traffic citation are usually listed on the back of the citation. A driver should select one of the listed three options within a 30-day period from the citation date. A BDI course is usually mandatory for drivers cited for racing on a highway, running a red light, reckless driving and passing a school bus with its stop signal on. Also, by completing the course, you will be able to avoid increased insurance rates.
How the Basic Driver Improvement course can dismiss your ticket
The Florida DHSMV requires drivers who have been in traffic collisions to complete the Traffic Collision Avoidance Course (TCAC) or the Basic Driver Improvement (BDI) course. To dismiss a ticket from your driving record, you might need to take the Florida BDI course.
You do not have to drive to a driving school to complete the BDI course, you can complete the course from your home and it will take four hours. With flexibility of online courses and the curriculum’s quality, you will manage to complete all DHSMV requirements.
When a court has ordered the BDI Course completion
In some instances, a court or the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) may order completion of the course. In such cases, any failure to comply with the order might lead to suspension or cancellation of your driver’s license.
One of the common circumstances in which the two departments order completion of the course is when a driver causes two vehicle crashes within a period of two years. A court may also order completion of the course if the driver participated in a crash that caused injuries or damaged properties.
People who do not need the course
According to Florida laws, Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) holders cannot mitigate traffic tickets by completing the BDI course. CDL is the driver’s license you need to operate commercial trucks and for other commercial purposes. Commercial drivers cannot mitigate traffic tickets by completing the BDI course including if they were not driving a truck during the time of citation. However, you can still take the course. A judge/court might grant you permission and you should therefore make a request.
This course offered by All Florida Safety Institute can be helpful to every driver in Florida including those without traffic tickets. After completing the course, you will benefit from the removal of points from your drivers license record. You will also manage to keep your insurance rates at their current level.